Finance. In 1969, the Mint became a Crown agency corporation, reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Supply and Services. It operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.R-8.

The latter change was made to provide for a more industrial type of organization and for flexibility in producing coins of Canada and other countries; buying, selling, melting, assaying and refining gold and other precious metals; and producing metals, plaques and other devices. The Mint has a seven-man board of directors appointed by the Governor in Council — the Master of the Mint who is its chief executive officer appointed to serve during pleasure, the chairman who is appointed for a four-year period, subject to re-appointment, and five other directors, two from inside and three from outside the Public Service, who are appointed for terms of three years. The Mint now operates basically as a manufacturing enterprise, with the object of making a small profit. Financial requirements are provided through loans from the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the federal government, was organized in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9) and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with the governments of eight provinces (all provinces except Ontario and Quebec) it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. In the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories the RCMP provides law enforcement services under contracts with the territorial governments. A Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, has the control and management of the Force and of all matters connected therewith; he functions under the direction of the Solicitor General of Canada.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1970, c.S-1) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Crown corporation, Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited, is subsidiary to the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The Authority is composed of a president, a vice-president and a member, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Science Council of Canada. The Science Council of Canada was established in 1966 (RSC 1970, c.S-5) and became a Crown corporation on April 1, 1969. The Council consists of 25 members each having a specialized interest in science or technology and four associate members chosen from among officers or employees of the federal government. Members hold office for terms of not more than three years and associate members hold office during pleasure. All are appointed by the Governor in Council. The duties of the Science Council are to assess in a comprehensive manner Canada's scientific and technological resources, requirements and potentialities and to make recommendations thereon. The Council reports to Parliament through a designated Minister, at present the Minister of State for Science and Technology.

Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited. The Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited was established under the Companies Act, by Letters Patent, November 13, 1962. It operates the international toll bridges system between Cornwall, Ont. and Rooseveltown, NY on behalf of the owners, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Secretariat of the Interdepartmental Committee on the 1976 Olympic Games. This Secretariat was established by Cabinet to co-ordinate all federal activities related to the 1976 Olympic Games. The Committee performs a liaison function with the Olympic Games Organization Committee (COJO), the cities of Montreal and Kingston, and the Quebec and Ontario governments; it ensures that appropriate federal departments and agencies are informed of and prepared to evaluate requests from COJO for federal assistance within the framework of government policy. In addition, the Committee is responsible for expediting the preparation of necessary legislation and regulations, and for keeping Cabinet informed about federal involvement in Olympic preparations.

Standards Council of Canada. The Council was established by Act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.41, 1st Supp.) which received Royal Assent on October 7, 1970. Its objectives are to foster and promote voluntary standardization in fields relating to the construction, manufacture, production, quality, performance and safety of buildings, structures, manufactured articles and products and other goods, including components thereof, not expressly provided for by law, as a means of advancing the national economy, benefiting the health, safety and welfare of the public, assisting and protecting consumers, facilitating domestic and international trade and furthering international co-operation in the field of standards. The Council is responsible for co-ordinating the planning and execution of a program for the development of standards in the metric (SI) system. This activity is in support of the over-all program which is being developed by the Preparatory Commission for Metric Conversion.

The Council consists of not more than 57 members, of whom six are federal representatives, ten represent the provinces and 41, various national organizations. Membership is broadly representative of all levels of government, primary and secondary industries, distributive and service industries, trade